2018 Guidelines & Criteria

This is the 19th year of Asia Risk Awards.

The awards recognise best practice in risk management and derivatives use by banks and financial institutions around the region. The awards ceremony will take place on 13 September at the Marina Bay Sands in Singapore.

After years of calm, market gyrations are back and are visible across equities, bonds and commodities.  Led by the global expansion narrative, risk-appetite has returned for now but long-term uncertainties remain intact. Such an environment opens up avenues for financial institutions, practitioners and vendors.

There is no dearth of challenges too. Looming trade wars and geopolitical uncertainties all point to not just the risks ahead but also opportunities for institutions to come up with innovative product strategies. We are hoping to see the clever ideas structures have been deploying to capitalise on the current market and empower clients.

Emerging markets are under pressure with central banks from India to Indonesia raising interest rates in a surprise shift as the nations seek to navigate a rising dollar, bubbling inflation and a slew of political uncertainties.  We will look for the solutions that your firm has come up with to ease the pressure on clients.

And then of course, there is China. The second largest economy has the most at stake over the next few years as it attempts to deleverage, enhance regulatory coordination and  continue to internationalize its markets. Show how your firm continues to serve client needs, provide access to customers and find new opportunities for growth.

What the judges are looking for

In order to collect an award in September, you will need to show clearly how the strength of your product innovation, underpinned by sound risk management strategies, separates you from your competitors. Extra points can be gained by showing how your clever product strategies in one area leverage off the breadth of expertise and financial engineering in another area of the bank.

Funky investment products are always interesting but remember Asia Risk also covers hedging – the winner in most categories will need to demonstrate fluency in hedging for end users as well as structuring.

For many of the main asset-class and regional categories, client references are the main difference between winning and losing. What do your end-users think of your work?

This year we have three new categories:  Regulator of the Year, Risk Data Analytics House of the Year and Sustainable Investment House of the Year.

We wish you the best of luck this year!

Key judging criteria

  • Innovation: looking beyond the ordinary in approaching existing or new business opportunities.
  • Risk management: a clear demonstration of the sound risk management practices that lie beyond the innovation.
  • Client references and feedback: how well innovations meet client needs, including satisfaction of customer service.
  • Cross-asset structuring: mobilisation of the global markets business to move beyond a single asset class.

How does the awards process work?

Submissions are now open and will close on July 13. The editorial team will then make a shortlist of the top two or three candidates in each category to interview. 
The second round of interviews, encompassing client references, will follow before the winners are announced in September.

The awards ceremony will take place in Singapore on September 13.

What should submissions contain?

Please keep entries brief – a maximum of four pages of A4 or a few powerpoint slides. Include case studies that demonstrate your structuring and hedging capabilities over the last 12 months. Please make sure both aspects feature – submissions based purely around structured investment products or just market share will be at a disadvantage.

The awards will look at activity conducted over the last 12 months.